Month: December 2007

  • How the internet works, v2

    Nothing like having web experts reviewing your diagrams… here’s my updated picture:

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

  • How the internet works

    My most recent quickie project was to summarize how the internet works in a 1-page diagram.

    Since I couldn’t find any single source with a good summary, I browsed a lot of wikipedia and howthingswork.com pages and came up with this:

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

    I intentionally left out details of the network stack, since the IETF has made a strong point of not adhering to formal layers [link].  And only network engineers need to worry about protocols; everyone else basically surfs on the application layer.  Any web experts out there who can point out anything wrong or missing from my diagram?

  • Don’t know much about Communism

    I wonder how much of this NYT Opinion article is true.

    Westerners think the Communist Party still has something to do with
    political ideology. You know there is no political philosophy in China
    except prosperity. The Communist Party is basically a gigantic Skull
    and Bones. It is one of the social networks its members use to build
    wealth together.

    If it is, I wonder what it means for the growth of Christianity in China and the shifting balance of economic power between China and the US.  Hmm…

    Full article here and in the first comment (at xanga.com/changed if you’re reading off a news feed).